top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturequeerhellth

Case #44

I Felt Trapped in this Situation


In 2014 I was married to a woman who I had been with for fifteen years. After many long conversations we eventually decided that we would like to start a family and started looking at our options.


We eventually settled on a donor and that I would carry the baby (we are a lesbian couple). Four months into the pregnancy my wife left me and I was faced with going to all future appointments alone. During one of these visits the doctor mentioned something about my wife, to which I mentioned that we were no longer together. He then started muttering something about how perhaps we shouldn't have gone on this journey if we weren't serious and starting a family isn't something to be done to make a political statement!


I was so speechless, he doesn't know anything about the situation and even if he did, this is not something anyone wants to hear during such an emotional time. Finding a new doctor is so difficult so I also felt trapped in this situation with him until I gave birth. He was still my family doctor for many years after this until I finally managed to seek out someone new.



bottom of page